Official name: Grand Duchy of Luxembourg
Luxembourg City (coordinates: 49° 36′ 36″ N, 6° 7′ 40″ E)
107,000 inhabitants, of whom 70% are foreign residents in 2014 (December 31, 2014). The capital, Luxembourg City, has a history going back more than a thousand years. It was founded in 963, and counts a number of historic sites, including its former fortress (a UNESCO World Heritage Site), as well as more contemporary sites. Luxembourg is one of Europe’s most important financial centres. The city is home to several European Union institutions and is one of the capitals of Europe, along with Brussels and Strasbourg.
Neighbouring countries:
Germany, Belgium, France
2,586 square kilometres The Grand Duchy of Luxembourg extends from north to south over a maximum distance of 82km and 57km from east to west.
359km. The country has 148km of borders with Belgium, 135km with Germany and 73km with France.
563.000 inhabitants (1 January 2015), of whom 46% are foreigners of more than 170 nationalities.
Form of government:
constitutional monarchy functioning as a parliamentary democracy
National language:
Luxembourgish (Lëtzebuergesch)
Administrative languages:
French, German and Luxembourgish

Source of information:

Download: Luxembourg at a glance (PDF)

Useful links

University of Luxembourg:

Institute of Geography and Spatial Planning:

UniGR-Center for Border Studies:

The official portal of the Grand Duchy of Luxembourg:

Visit Luxembourg:

Luxembourg City Tourist Office:

City of Esch-sur-Alzette: